Local News

Taylorville Kiwanis Club Holds Annual Officer Installation Luncheon, Meeting Marks End of an Era

It was the end of an era for both Kiwanis officers and the location the Taylorville Kiwanis Club has met in for over 26 years, when the club held its annual officer installation luncheon Tuesday at the Taylorville Memorial Hospital auditorium.


It was the last meeting at the T-M-H auditorium, as the club will begin meeting at the Taylorville Moose Lodge starting next Tuesday.  The T-M-H auditorium will be coming down as part of the hospital's building project, early next year.


Kiwanis District Governor Charles Smith installed the new officers, assisted by former Kiwanis International President Paul Palazzolo.  The new Kiwanis Club local president is Sarah Van Huss, and president-elect is Adam Jeffrey.  Martin Vota continues to serve as club secretary, and Judy Prasun continues to serve as club treasurer.


It was also the last meeting to be presided over by outgoing Taylorville Kiwanis Club president Michael Evanchak, who told the gathering that serving in that position has been a great experience.



Evanchak also awarded the "Kiwanian of the Year" award to Kiwanis member Martin Vota for his tireless efforts for both the local club and the Illinois-Iowa Kiwanis District.   Vota told the club his commitment is about the children and the community.



Taylorville Kiwanis Club members are again reminded that weekly meetings starting next Tuesday, will be held at the Taylorville Moose Lodge.


For more information on the club, go on-line to taylorvillekiwanis-dot-com.

Townhall Top of the Hour News

Weather - Sponsored By:


Local News

TaylorvilleDN on Facebook