Local News

WTIM's Leroy Kleimola Nominated for Statewide Award by Illinois Broadcasters Association

WTIM Radio's news and sports reporter Leroy Kleimola has been nominated for an award by the Illinois Broadcasters Association.  His 2022 story about a family seeking justice in the death of a 3-year-old, was named a finalist in the I-B-A's Small Market Radio nominations for Best Spot Radio News coverage.

It's the 2nd time in 3 years that Kleimola has been nominated for or won an award for best spot radio news coverage in the state.   

WTIM won an award from the I-B-A in 2019 for its hours of live coverage of the December First, 2018 tornado as well as a Community Service Award.   Kleimola won an award for Best Spot Radio News coverage in 2020 for his story on the George Floyd march in Taylorville.   In 2021, former WTIM play by play announcer Avery Cooper won the station an award for best small market play-by-play.  And, this year, Kleimola is again nominated in the Best Spot Radio News coverage among small market radio stations in Illinois.

Award winners will be announced at the I-B-A Convention next week in Bloomington-Normal.

Townhall Top of the Hour News

Weather - Sponsored By:


Local News

Facebook Feed - Sponsored By: