Local News

First Responders From I-55 Crash Recognized

The State of Illinois along with the House of Representatives honored the first responders who jumped into action to save lives during the  I-55 May 1st accident.  The accident stemmed from a dust storm that popped up making visibility difficult. State Representative Wayne Rosenthal and the House recognized the first responders who also got to meet with Governor JB Pritzker.  House Resolution 314 filed by Rosenthal, was adopted by the House to acknowledge their actions that day.



Those responding to the incident included Assistant Chief Brian Byers of the Farmersville/Waggoner Fire Protection District, and Chief Mike Webb who arrived on-scene after AC Byers and wisely allowed AC Byers to continue as incident commander. The firefighters who tackled the raging fire included Chief Adam Pennock on his first day as full-time Fire Chief for the Litchfield Fire Department, who worked hand in hand with AC Byers on getting the victims transported in a timely fashion, Chief Jess McKee and members of the Carlinville Fire Department who dealt with the removal of the deceased victims. 


In addition, Tyson Holhouser with the sheriff's office and other local police who maintained the safety of the roadways, Casey Canter who stayed at the landing zone, and all the EMS staff from the area who also helped.  

As part of their recognition, each first responder who was on the scene that day will receive a copy of HR 314. To read the full text of the resolution, click here

Townhall Top of the Hour News

Weather - Sponsored By:


Local News

Facebook Feed - Sponsored By: