Local News

Gov. Pritzker Issues Disaster Proclamation For 28 Counties; Several Local Counties Included

Illinois Gov. JB Pritzker issues a disaster proclamation for multiple central and southern Illinois counties impacted by recent tornadoes and storms. 

The proclamation allows the state to expedite resources to counties in need. It also allows the Illinois emergency Management Agency to procure additional resources to help communities recover. 


Officials confirmed six tornadoes throughout Illinois. In Madison, the tornado caused the roof of a private business to collapse resulting in six deaths and multiple injuries. 


Local counties include Montgomery, Fayette, Macoupin, and Shelby.


The governor’s actions activate the State Emergency Operations Center or SEOC, which multiple state agencies to offer assistance on the ground. This includes the Illinois State Police, Illinois Department of Transportation and the Illinois Department of Public Health. 


The American Red Cross, Salvation Army, Edwardsville Community Foundation and other nonprofits are also providing aid to local residents. 


Shelby, Montgomery, Effingham, Fayette, Macon, Moultrie and Sangamon counties are included in the disaster designation among 20 others throughout southern and central Illinois. 

Townhall Top of the Hour News


SRN News