Local News

Local Farmers Eligible For Natural Disaster Relief

Farmers experiencing excessive moisture and flash flooding this spring and summer eligible for relief. 


Illinois Department of Agriculture secretary Tom Vilsack announcing relief for farmers in 12 Illinois counties, including Christian, Macon, Shelby, Macoupin, Moultrie, Sangamon, Montgomery, DeWitt and Vermillion counties. 


The USDA reviewed the Loss Assesment Reports and determined sufficient production losses occurred warranting a Secretarial natural disaster designation. 


IDA director Jerry Costello II says that this growing season saw multiple weather issues and thanks Gov. JB Pritzker and Secretary Vilsack to make aid available to farmers needed after a natural disaster. 


A Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the USDA Farm Service Agency to provide emergency loans to producers recovering from natural disasters. Producers should contact their local USDA Service Center to ask questions or file a Notice of Loss.

Townhall Top of the Hour News

Weather - Sponsored By:


Local News

Facebook Feed - Sponsored By: