Local News

The Illinois Department of Transportation announced on Monday that $7 million in local infrastructure funding will be distributed locally as part of the Rebuild Illinois program. State Senator Doris Turner announced on Wednesday morning that Montgomery and Macoupin Counties will receive a portion of those funds. Turner recognized that truck drivers have much to consider and creating a designated truck route in these communities would help manage traffic and provide safer driving experiences for everyone.


The grant was made possible through the IDOT Truck Access Route Program which allows counties municipalities and townships to receive assistance for upgrading roads to accommodate trucks. Both Litchfield and Carlinville will receive funding with Old Route 66 located at Illinois 16 County Road 170 E receiving $76,500 and Shipman Road located at Illinois 108 Loveless Parkway receiving $94,000. 


Senator Turner also praised the funding as boosting jobs and providing resources to local communities to continue to grow and keep the roads safe for everyone.

Townhall Top of the Hour News
SRN News
Main Office: