Local News

EMS Agencies Receive Grants From Memorial Medical System

32 different emergency medical service agencies are receiving over $17,000 in grant money from the Memorial Medical Center Foundation to purchase instructional materials for training and certification. Sara Brown, manager of Memorial Health System, says that a lot of these agencies have requirements that have been hard to meet due to the pandemic.



Melissa Hansen Schmadeke, executive director of the MMC Foundation, knows that this grant program is the right way to help these communities.



Heather Moore, Chief of Education at Springfield Fire Department was absolutely appreciative knowing how much these programs supply to Emergency Medical Technicians.



Dr. Matthew Johnston, EMS Medical Director at Memorial Medical Center Emergency says that the training that goes into this can recognize front-line issues and this education can save lives.



Among the 32 EMS agencies that will share the grant include: Taylorville Fire Department, Rochester Fire District, Rural Med EMS, Medics First Ambulance, and America Ambulance Service. 


The full list of EMS Agencies:


EMS agencies who will share in the grant include:

Lifestar Ambulance – Springfield

Logan County Paramedic Association

Sherman Fire Protection District

Springfield Fire Department

America Ambulance Service

Taylorville Fire Department

Lifestar Ambulance – Jacksonville

Beardstown Fire Department

Medics First Ambulance

Jacksonville Fire Department

Lincoln Rural Fire Protection District

New Berlin – Island Grove Fire Department

Rochester Fire Protection District

South Jacksonville Fire Department

Chapin Are Rescue Squad

Waverly Fire Department

Winchester EMS

Rural Med EMS

Meredosia Volunteer Rescue Squad

Williamsville Fire Protection District

Middletown Rescue

Emden Fire Protection District

New Holland Fire Protection District

Hartsburg Fire Department

Springfield Police Department ERT

Ashland Fire Department

Chandlerville Fire Department

Petersburg Community Fire Department

Murrayville-Woodson Emergency Ambulance Service

Northwestern Area Ambulance and Rescue Service

Alexander Fire Protection District

Arenzville Fire and Rescue

Townhall Top of the Hour News


SRN News