Local News


Long-time Taylorville Kiwanis Club member John McClure was honored with a special award at the recent Illinois-Eastern Iowa Kiwanis District Convention in Springfield recently.


McClure was given the “Amador Award”, named in honor of Doctor Luis V. Amador, the medical director of the Kiwanis Neuroscience Research Foundation since its inception in 1952.


McClure was honored for his many years of personal dedication, lifelong support and service to the Taylorville Kiwanis Club and by extension, the children of Taylorville, Christian County, and beyond.


The Taylorville Kiwanis Club, along with the Raymond-Harvel and North Mac Kiwanis Clubs, nominated McClure for the award.  


Taylorville Kiwanis Club members Martin Vota, Blain Cornwell, Dean Ray, Dennis Barnhardt and Dick Wamsley, along with local Kiwanis president Michael Evanchak, were all present when McClure accepted his award.


The Taylorville Kiwanis Club is part of global organization of volunteers dedicated to improving the world one child and one community at a time.  Weekly meetings are held Tuesdays at noon at the Taylorville Memorial Hospital auditorium.  For information on the club, go to taylorvillekiwanis.com.


Townhall Top of the Hour News
SRN News
Main Office: