Local News

The seating of 3 new Council members, the retirements of 2 city department heads, and the appointment of a new department head, highlighted last night's hour-and-20-minute meeting of the Taylorville City Council at City Hall.


Newly elected aldermen Chris Skultety, Megan Bryant, and Kathy Driskell, along with re-elected alderman Jim Olive, were each sworn in by retired Judge Ron Spears.



Bryant told Regional Radio News she's hit the ground running even before being seated Monday night.




Skultety told Regional Radio News that city finances will be an issue he'll be watching as a new alderman.




And, Driskell told Regional Radio News that she decided to run for alderman after seeing how the town responded following the December First tornado.




Outgoing Council members Martin Vota and Earl Walters were honored for their many years of service on the Council.  Vota completed 12 years, while Walters ended some 18 years on Monday night.


The Council also accepted the retirements of Lake Superintendent Alan Jackson effective April 30th, and Police Chief Brian Hile effect July First. 




Bart Bialas was approved as the new Lake Superintendent, and was sworn in by Judge Spears.


Mayor Bruce Barry also announced that long-time Taylorville Cemetery Board member Jim Dennis had resigned.  Dennis served on that board for over 30 years.  A replacement will be named soon.

Townhall Top of the Hour News
SRN News
Main Office: