Local News

Christian County CEO Board Announces 2017-18 Students


Christian County CEO, or “Creating Entrepreneurial Opportunities” Board of Directors are pleased to announce the 2017-18 Christian County C-E-O Class.


Students were selected thru a blind application process.  Taylorville High School students named to participate in the program include Reese Bergschneider, Jacob (JT) Boehme, Ryan Brown, Carrie Denning, Luc Johnson, Karlee Kuntzman, Riley Matheny, Jordan Moats, Jessica Parsons and Kyle Woods.  Other students embarking on the C-E-O journey during the upcoming school year include Grace Blakley from First Baptist Christian Academy, James Harris from South Fork, Fayth Stout from Pana, and Sabrina Warren from Edinburg.


The Christian County CEO program is made possible by the generous donations from Christian County businesses, community groups, and individuals.  There is no cost to the students or school districts.   Students will tour area businesses and learn about business from guest speakers.  The program teaches leadership, encouragement, and creativity. 


“Entrepreneurship education seeks to prepare people, especially youth, to be responsible, enterprising individuals who become entrepreneurs or entrepreneurial thinkers and contribute to economic development and sustainable communities. The CEO program is much more than a textbook course. Rather, students are immersed in real life learning experiences with the opportunity to take risks, manage the results, and learn from the outcomes,” says Cheryl Mitchell, Midland Institute Executive Director.


More information about the program is available at www.christiancountyceo.com

Townhall Top of the Hour News


SRN News