Local News


The 110th Annual Greater Taylorville Chamber of Commerce Banquet and Awards of Excellence was held Friday Night at The Pillars Banquet and Events Center in Taylorville. Five awards were presented to deserving community members and the evening was capped off with a special keynote speech from WICS morning and midday anchor Jenn Sullivan.


The annual “Boss of the Year” award was presented to Kent Richardson of CNB Bank and Trust in Taylorville. This year’s “Volunteer of the Year” award was given to Brian Reed of Pepsi Refreshment Services. Two citizens were honored as the “Citizens of the Year,” as Billy Williams and Adam Vocks with CTI earned those honors. A “Lifetime Achievement Award” was given this year to Ken Hart of People’s Bank and Trust. Also this year, a new award was created called the “Chamber’s Inspiration Award” which was presented to the Citizen’s for Education Committee for their efforts to benefit Taylorville children for generations to come. The Miller Media Group was a proud sponsor of this year’s banquet.


From left to right: Volunteer of the Year Brian Reed, Boss of the Year Kent Richardson, Chamber's Inspiration representative of the Citizens for Education Committee Melissa Livingston, Lifetime Achievement Award winner Ken Hart, and Outstanding Citizens of the Year Adam Vocks and Billy Williams.


The Miller Media Group was proud to sponsor and live stream this year's awards banquet. From left to right: Neil Hohenstien, Michael Pickett and Kyle Norris.


Main Office: