Local News

New York, NY (SportsNetwork.com) -  Chicago Bulls center  Joakim Noah has been 
selected as the 2013-14 NBA Defensive Player of the Year, the league announced 

Noah,  the  anchor of a Chicago  defense that yielded a league-low 91.8 points 
per  game, received 100  out of a possible 125 first-place votes and 555 total 
points to easily outdistance Indiana center Roy Hibbert for the award. 

The  two-time All-Star  also helped the Bulls  rank second in the NBA in field 
goal  percentage defense  (.430) and finished sixth individually in rebounding 
(11.3  rpg). Noah added  1.51 blocks  and 1.24  steals over 80 regular-season 
games,  joining Detroit's Andre Drummond and New Orleans' Anthony Davis as the 
only players in 2013-14 to average 10 rebounds, 1.5 blocks and 1.2 steals. 

"He  sets  the tone for our  defense and I cannot  think of anyone who is more 
deserving  of such a prestigious individual honor," said Bulls general manager 
Gar  Forman. "We are all very proud of Joakim and want to congratulate him for 
being named the NBA's Defensive Player of the Year." 

Noah joins the legendary Michael Jordan (1987-88) as the only players in Bulls 
history to earn Defensive Player of the Year honors. 

"I  never thought I would be in this position," said Noah, who finished fourth 
in last year's balloting. "All I did was keep working." 

Hibbert  garnered eight first-place votes and 166 points to place second, with 
Los  Angeles  Clippers center DeAndre Jordan  third with 121 points while also 
being named atop eight ballots. 

Oklahoma  City forward Serge Ibaka, the runner-up for the award in 2011-12 and 
the third-place finisher last year, was fourth with 79 points. 

Memphis  Grizzlies center  Marc Gasol,  the 2012-13  recipient, got  just four 
points while missing considerable time this season due to a knee injury. 

Main Office: