Local News

Governor Pat Quinn has announced that the state will provide Macon and Sangamon County elementary and secondary schools with investments totaling more than $43.2 million.


Twenty-four districts statewide will receive funding this fiscal year after their projects were certified by the Illinois State Board of Education and the Illinois Capital Development Board. The funding will allow districts to construct new schools, classroom additions, and make overdue renovations to aging buildings.


The Macon and Sangamon County school districts that will receive funding include: 

Meridian Community Unit School District 15 ($28,940,660), Riverton Community Unit School District 14 ($7,988,990), and Pleasant Plains Community Unit School District 8 ($6,297,057).


These school construction projects are part of Governor Quinn’s $31 billion Illinois Jobs Now! program, which will support more than 439,000 jobs over six years.

Townhall Top of the Hour News
SRN News
Main Office: