Taylorville, IL

Greater Taylorville Chamber Holds 106th Annual Banquet; Local Leaders Honored

Over 120 people attended the 106th annual banquet of the Greater Taylorville Chamber of Commerce Friday night at Lake Shore Golf Course.

Following dinner, a number of awards were presented to those who provided many hours of service to the Chamber and the community, as well as 3 Chamber scholarships provided by area colleges and universities for 2 semesters of tuition and fees.

3 area high school seniors were selected, including, from the left:  Tim Shafer of Taylorville, who will attend Lincoln Land Communitiy College; Ashley Gaither of Central A&M, who will attend Richland Community College; and Bobby Rose of Nokomis, who will attend the University of Illinois Springfield.  Linda Smith, chairperson of the Chamber scholarship committee, made the scholarship presentations.

The Ambassador of the Year Award was presented by Gina Prinzavalli to Len Hempen. The Chairwoman’s Award was presented by outgoing chairwoman Jenni Stephens, to 2 people—Elizabeth Hohenstein and Scott Stallman.

The Randy France Volunteer of the Year Award went to Susie Montgomery, for her many volunteer efforts.  She was presented the award by award committee member Kent Richardson.

The Greater Taylorville Chamber Outstanding Citizen of the Year Award went to Bernadette Salisbury, for her many contributions to the community as a former teacher, former United Way executive director, and current Taylorville Memorial Hospital board chair.  She was presented the award by award committee member Doctor Ron Mizer.

The Taylorville Chamber’s Lifetime Achievement Award went to long-time Taylorville businessman Jim Gagne (left), who was presented the award by Chamber President/CEO Patty Hornbuckle and Award Committee member Dan Raab.

In his remarks accepting the award, Gagne said Taylorville has been a great place to raise his family and operate a business.

comment here

Gagne owns the local Anheuser-Busch distributorship.

Following the passing of the gavel from outgoing chairperson Jenni Stephens (right) to new Chamber chairperson Elizabeth Hohenstein, humorist Jeff Fleming provided the entertainment.

(Jeff Fleming, the "Humor Guy", Friday night at the Greater Taylorville Chamber banquet.)

The final event of the night was the 10-thousand dollar cash raffle drawing. The winner was Jenni Stephens.

RSS Feeds Make us Your

EEO Report - Click Here To View Taylorville's EEO Report
This site was created by | Privacy Policy
Copyright © 2015 Taylorville Daily News
Miller Media Group
918 E. Park St. (P.O. Box 169) Taylorville IL, 62568
Office Phone 217-824-3395