Local News

The Taylorville Kiwanis Club installed new officers and honored several of their own, during their weekly luncheon Tuesday.

Outgoing Kiwanis president Martin Vota presented several awards to those who served the club in various capacities.  Diane Beatty, who served as secretary from 2004 until 2018, was given a special award for her many years of service.  Her husband Cliff was also honored with a special awards, for his many years as treasurer.  Both retired from their Kiwanis positions this year.

Vota then named the Kiwanian of the Year, who was Will Perkins for his leadership as chair of both the Key and Builder’s Clubs for the club, as well as his efforts as past president, and current chair of the fund-raising committee.

Vota then gave his final remarks as president of the club, saying he was proud to achieve several of the goals he set out when he became president a year ago.

Former Kiwanis International president Paul Palazzolo (pal-uh-ZOH-low) of Springfield, then held the installation ceremony.  New officers installed include Michael Evanchak as president, Sarah Van Huss as president-elect, Martin Vota as secretary, and Judy Prasun as treasurer. 

Palazzolo told the local club he has many Kiwanis memories of Taylorville during his years as Kiwanis Lieutenant Governor, District Governor, and Rotary International president.

Vota received an award as outgoing president of the club, by Palazzolo. 

Vota then gave Palazzolo a special Leadership Award for his many years of leadership as a Kiwanis Lieutenant Governor, Governor, and ultimately president of Kiwanis International.

The Taylorville Kiwanis Club is part of global organization of volunteers dedicated to improving the world one child and one community at a time.  Weekly meetings are held Tuesdays at noon at the Taylorville Memorial Hospital auditorium.  For information on the club, go to taylorvillekiwanis.com.

Main Office: